

## **Annual meeting in Montpellier**

The annual meeting of EUNETHYDIS took place in Montpellier on 18-20 September 2023, with 88 participants from 13 countries.

We started with a strategic discussion on the future of EUNETHYDIS, covering a wide range of issues: how to bring lived experience to EUNETHYDIS; how developmental incorporate a systems perspective; how to facilitate greater translational and societal impact; how to find new ways to collaborate. A session on national ADHD strategies highlighted differences and challenges across three countries: France, Hungary and Italy. We are grateful to Frank Bellivier from the French Health Ministry for joining the session and sharing his views his insightful in presentation.

Scientific and translational sessions focused on ADHD and sleeping problems; women with ADHD; educational and cultural issues; transdiagnostic issues; the benefits and the risks of digitalization; and the treatment of co-occurring conditions. In a session on 'paradigms in perspective', we were invited thinking our broaden by romanticising emotion, revisiting regulation' and by reflecting on a paradigm switch that incorporates a neurodiversity perspective.









We thank our wonderful local host Professor Diane Purper-Ouakil for all her brilliant work before and during the meeting. The dinner in the beautiful restaurant garden in the old town of Montpellier - how very chic! - shall not be forgotten.

### Lifetime Achievement Award

This year's EUNETHYDIS Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Professor Emeritus Aribert Rothenberger (Göttingen University, Germany). The prize is awarded for sustained, fundamental and outstanding contributions to ADHD and to EUNETHYDIS. As Professor Rothenberger could not be at the Montpellier meeting in person, a laudatory speech, held by his long-standing colleague Professor Manfred Döpfner, had been pre-recorded and was shown during the members' meeting.

## **Kramer-Pollnow Prizes**

The Kramer-Pollnow Prize is awarded every two years for scientific excellence in research on ADHD. This year we had two winners: Dr Kenneth Man from University College London and Dr Zheng Chang from Karolinska Institutet in Stockholm. Congratulations to both! Many thanks to Medice for sponsoring the prize.

# **New Steering Committee**

Following elections, EUNETHYDIS Steering Committee members are: Friederike Blume, David Coghill, Diane Purper-Ouakil, Jonna Kuntsi (incoming Co-Chair), Sam Cortese (EAGG Chair), Kate Langley, Tobias Banaschewski (Chair until December 2023), Sven Bolte (incoming Co-Chair). New Treasurer is Pieter Hoekstra (missing from the photo).







The new SC wishes to thank past SC members for their excellent work and wide-ranging contributions to EUNETHYDIS over many years: Prof Jan Buitelaar (past Treasurer), Prof Emily Simonoff (past EAGG Chair), Prof Saskia van der Oord and Dr Anouk Scheres.

#### Reflections from the Chair Professor Tobias Banaschewski

I am most grateful to the current and past steering committee members for their strong support in developing our Eunethydis during the recent years when I was chairing Eunethydis, and similarly thankful to all of you for actively contributing to advance integration of important new views and concepts into our field. This allowed us to grow more multidisciplinary, and will help us to complement medical, biological and psychological natural sciences with further insights from human and social sciences and philosophy, and to remain innovative and advance our field and to foster individual and collective agency, particularly during these difficult times and ongoing crises. I like to highlight all your engagement into our special interest groups, webinars and online conferences, the upcoming mentorship program, and particularly the wonderful recent real-life Cardiff and Montpellier meetings – I am looking forward to our Cagliari meeting in 2024 and to the great engagement of our new Chairs Jonna and Sven.